Wiener Golemology Prize

The Wiener Golemology Prize is one of the best-known golemic visual arts prizes.
It is inspired by the book of Norbert Wiener, God & Golem Inc. (The MIT Press, 1964).

Norbert Wiener (1894-1964)
God & Golem Inc. (1st edition)

Each year, 50 artists are shortlisted, and the prize awarded for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation in the preceding year.

svankmajer madja edelstein gomez
2011 Winner Jan Svankmajer

So what are the essential things to know about this event of the art world calendar?

The Wiener Golemology Prize is given to the most talented glitch artists

The prize was first awarded in 2011. It was founded by three centers of Contemporary Art (CCA – Tbilisi, Dox – Prague, The Power Plant – Toronto), who have created it in 2010 to encourage wider interest in glitch contemporary art and assist the (then) world of art in knowing this art.

The Wiener Golemology Prize Project is in the hands of Madja Edelstein-Gomez, curator.

madja edelstein-gomez wiener golemology prize
Madja Edelstein-Gomez, curator

It’s given to ‘a glitch(ed) artist’

‘glitch(ed)’ can mean artists working with glitches (or bugs) or artists being glitched.